Justice Courts Public Information Request
Court records are maintained in accordance with Rules of the Supreme Court of Arizona,
Rule 29: Court Records, subsections (A) and (D).
Most records are destroyed once their statutory retention period expires, which can be from one year to 11 years,
depending on the case type.
Click here for the retention schedule.
Court records are provided in accordance with Arizona Supreme Court
Most existent records are public and will be provided, with redactions as required in Rule and Statute.
How to Request Records
General public or a party to a case:
Litigants in a case, members of the public, and commercial businesses wishing to receive specific case files,
information, or recorded proceedings should send the request to the one justice court which has jurisdiction over the case.
Download request forms and instructions here.
Which court to contact? Enter case number or litigant name here.
Get court locations, phone numbers, and email addresses here.
Media, academics, governments, or non-profits should send requests to the Justice Courts' Public Information Office:
The PIO may decline requests from public members or litigants by instructing them to contact the court with jurisdiction over the case.
Bulk Filing Data
Bulk justice court data is available via CD. Discs are mailed to requesters on or after the 5th day of every month and
include details of new filings and terminations of all case types, as well as current detailed information on all pending
justice court cases in which activity occurred during the previous month. The Maricopa County Justice Courts will process
orders for the CD but cannot provide technical support or interpretation of data. To preview files from a sample bulk data disc,
The Cost of Receiving Records
Generally, there is a fee to provide any record. Most costs are specified in
state law: ARS §22-281.
Some requesters may qualify for a fee deferral or waiver.
Case files: $.50 per page
Certification: $28 per document
Audio/video recordings: $28 per case
Search fee (commercial requesters): $28 for up to 10 files
Bulk data disc: $28 per month
Payment may be made by check or, sometimes, over the phone depending on the specific court's practices.
Forms for Requesting Records?
A request form is available for each of the above situations. To download the forms and instructions,
Want to listen to or watch a court case?
Courthouses are public places with an expectation of privacy. The public is welcome to attend any ongoing court proceeding unless
deemed confidential, such as some protective orders or juvenile proceedings.
With the advent of the COVID-19 pandemic, courts may hold hearings either in person or virtually (phone/video).
Participants in a case will receive instructions on the appropriate method of attendance.
If you are not a party to the case but wish to attend, please
contact the specific court by phone or email to make your request.
Want to record or photograph a court case?
Per Arizona Supreme Court Rule 122 and
Rule 122.1, recording and photography are prohibited in courtrooms and
courthouses without prior approval from the judge. Requests to bring a recording or photography device should go to the
Justice Courts' Public Information Office: MCJC-PIO@jbazmc.maricopa.gov.