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You (the defendant) have TWENTY (20) calendar days to file an answer to the small claims complaint. The answer should
respond to each allegation of the complaint.

                   PLEASE NOTE THAT FAILURE TO FILE AN ANSWER MAY RESULT IN A DEFAULT JUDGMENT

If you wish to file a counterclaim you must do so at the same time that you file your answer. Please refer to the counterclaim
packet.

Please STOP...
                         If you have not received a small claims complaint and summons.
                         If a default judgment has already been issued against you. If a default judgment has already been signed,
                         refer to the Motion to Vacate Judgment packet.

Please PROCEED
                         If you are answering within (twenty) 20 days of receiving the small claims complaint and summons.
                         Or, if (twenty) 20 days have passed, but a default judgment has not been issued against you.

FORMS Needed:
                         Information for Filing and Defending Small Claims Cases
                         Small Claim Complaint/Summons/Answer

INSTRUCTIONS
                         1. Review the Information for Filing and Defending Small Claims Cases pamphlet.
                         2. Complete the Answer portion of the Small Claims Complaint/Summons/Answer form.
                         3. Mail (regular US mail) a copy of the completed answer to the other party.
                         4. File the original completed answer form with the court clerk and pay the answer fee.

IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL PARTIES KEEP THE COURT APPRISED OF ANY CHANGE IN ADDRESS A NOTICE OF
CHANGE OF ADDRESS form must be filed with the court when a party changes their address.

Visit us at http://justicecourts.maricopa.gov/ for additional filing information and online forms.

http://justicecourts.maricopa.gov/


This is your case. You have a responsibility to yourself and to the court to acquire a sufficient knowledge to complete the forms properly and to
follow your lawsuit to conclusion. There are certain steps you must follow to pursue it properly. This information is provided to assist you in
general procedure. You may also want to refer to the Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) and Arizona Rules of Court (ARCP) and (JCRCP) for
additional information. The statutes may be viewed online at http://www.azleg.state.az.us/ArizonaRevisedStatutes.asp or may be found at your
local library.
CLERK DUTY The clerks in the Justice Court are not attorneys and cannot give legal advice. The clerks' responsibility is to take your court filing
and to provide forms and explain court procedures. It is not the clerks' responsibility to advise you if you have a legal claim. The clerk is not
responsible for any error you may make in asserting or defending the claim. The court does not take sides or render an opinion regarding the
merits of a claim. ARS 22-507
COURT FEES
Fees are payable at the time of the filing. Refer to the Court's posted schedule of fees. ARS 22-281, 22-522
JURISDICTIONAL LIMIT The plaintiff may file for any amount not to exceed $3,500.00. A larger claim may be reduced to $3,500.00 and any
remaining amount waived. A claim may NOT be split by filing two separate actions. The plaintiff may ask for reimbursement of court costs in
addition to the $3,500.00 maximum. Court costs include, but are not limited to filing and service fees. A prevailing defendant may also ask for
reimbursement of court costs. ARS 22-503A
YOU MAY NOT FILE IN SMALL CLAIMS IF:
The case involves a claim of defamation by libel or slander. The case is for forcible entry, forcible detainer or unlawful detainer. The case
involves a claim for specific performance. The case is brought or defended on behalf of a class. The case requests relief by or involves
prejudgment remedies. The case is seeking injunctive relief. The case involves traffic violations or criminal matters. The case is against this
State, its political subdivisions or is against its officers or employees, acting in an official capacity. ARS 22-503B
VENUE means the proper geographical area (precinct) in which a lawsuit may be filed. You must file the lawsuit where the defendant resides or
does business or where the cause of the lawsuit occurred. ARS 12-401
MOTION FOR CHANGE OF VENUE A motion for change of venue is one of only two motions allowed in a small claims action. A motion for
change of venue for improper venue must be filed prior to filing the answer, or venue is waived. If a motion is filed alleging that the lawsuit is filed
in the wrong precinct and the court orders a change of venue, the case will be transferred to the proper precinct. If you oppose a motion for
change of venue you must file an objection in writing within ten days after service of the motion. ARS 12-404A Venue may be proper in more
than one precinct, however if, after hearing, the original venue is found to be wrong additional fees may be assessed to the plaintiff. ARS 12-407
TRANSFER TO REGULAR CIVIL DIVISION OF JUSTICE COURT Either party may transfer a small claims case to the court's civil division up to
TEN (10) working days before trial. The party requesting the transfer will be assessed filing fees. ARS 22-504A
ATTORNEYS An attorney cannot appear or represent either party in the small claims division unless:
    ~ He/she is representing himself or herself.
    ~ Both parties agree to the use of attorneys and file a STIPULATION TO USE OF ATTORNEYS, a form the court can provide. A stipulation to
        use attorneys must be filed at least 24 hours before the scheduled court date. However, any party has the right to choose to be represented
        by counsel and may file a request to transfer the case to the civil division of the Justice Court for that purpose. The case will then be
        transferred to the civil division and appropriate fees charged to the party requesting the transfer.
After entry of judgment, the prevailing party has a right to employ an attorney to pursue available rights and remedies for the purpose of
collecting the judgment award. ARS 22-512B, C,D,E
PARTIES The statutes governing small claims procedures set forth who may file a small claims action or appear or represent on behalf of such
an action. ARS 22-512A, B
The plaintiff must be the original owner of a claim and may not sue on an assigned claim. However, after judgment a party may make an
assignment of the judgment. ARS 22-512
An individual shall represent himself. Either spouse or both may represent a marital community. An active general partner or an authorized
full-time employee shall represent a partnership.
A full-time officer or authorized employee shall represent a corporation.
An active member or an authorized full-time employee shall represent an association.
Any other organization or entity shall be represented by one of its active members or authorized full-time employees.
If you are representing a partnership, an association, or any other organization please provide the court with a letter stating your position and
authority to represent an action on behalf of the partnership, association or organization.
If you are a full time employee representing a corporation please provide the court with a letter stating your position and authority to represent the
corporation. The letter must be signed by a corporate officer.
However, any party has the right to choose to be represented by counsel and may file a request to transfer to the civil division or both parties
may stipulate to allow the use of attorneys.
PLEADINGS shall set forth a short and plain statement.
        1) Upon which the court's jurisdiction depends.
        2) Upon which the court's venue depends.
        3) Showing the pleader is entitled to relief.
        4) A demand for judgment for the relief sought.
EXAMPLE
I am claiming damages against the defendant in the amount of $3,500.00. (jurisdiction)
The defendant resides in the South Phoenix Precinct, (or, The lawsuit occurred in the South Mountain Precinct). (venue) The defendant owes me
money because ... (legal entitlement to claim)
Wherefore, the plaintiff requests that the court enter judgment in his favor in the sum of ... (demand)

Maricopa County Justice Courts
INFORMATION FOR FILING SMALL CLAIMS CASES IN JUSTICE COURT
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METHODS OF SERVICE In addition to any other available methods of service ARCP Rule 4, the plaintiff may serve the summons and
complaint by certified, restricted mail with a return receipt. Service is deemed complete upon the delivery of the mailing to the defendant and
signed by the defendant (as evidenced on the return receipt filed with the court).
Each named defendant must be served a copy of the COMPLAINT and SUMMONS. To ensure the named party defendant signs the
return receipt, restricted delivery should be used.
If the postal service does not enter a date of delivery or the date is not legible, service is deemed complete on the date the return receipt is filed
with the court. The plaintiff may file the return receipt (the green card) with the court in person or by first class mail.
If the defendant refuses to accept the mailing, or a person other than the named defendant signs for the registered or certified mailing, then
service has NOT been properly accomplished.
If the defendant cannot be served by registered or certified mail, personal service by a licensed process server must be used.
If the claim is against a corporation, the statutory agent, or an officer of the corporation must be served on behalf of the corporation named in the
complaint. You may obtain the name and address of a statutory agent or corporate officer by calling the Arizona Corporation Commission
602-542-3026 or 1-800-345-5819.
YOU HAVE 120 DAYS TO SERVE THE SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT OR YOUR CASE IS SUBJECT TO DISMISSAL ARCP 4(i)
SERVICE AFTER APPEARANCE A copy of all pleadings filed with the court must be mailed or delivered to the opposing party.
IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL PARTIES KEEP THE COURT APPRISED OF ANY CHANGE IN ADDRESS A NOTICE OF CHANGE OF
ADDRESS form is available at the court and must be filed with the court when a party changes their address.
DEFAULT If the defendant does not file an answer to the complaint within twenty (20) days after service is complete, the plaintiff may apply for
an entry of default against the defendant. If a counterclaim has been filed and the plaintiff fails to file a reply to the counterclaim within the time
allowed, the counter-claimant (defendant) may apply for an entry of default against the counter-defendant (plaintiff) on the counterclaim. The
party seeking the default must mail a copy of the APPLICATION FOR ENTRY OF DEFAULT form to the defaulting party. If the party claimed to
be in default fails to file an answer or pleading or otherwise defend in the lawsuit within ten (10) judicial days of the filing of the application, the
plaintiff may then file the request for entry of default judgment and form of judgment.
DISMISSAL The plaintiff may dismiss the claim at any time prior to defendant filing an answer or other pleading. Once the defendant has filed
an answer both parties must stipulate to a dismissal (agree in writing).
FILING AN ANSWER The defendant has twenty calendar days to file an answer to the complaint with the court and pay the answer fee. The
answer should respond to each allegation of the complaint. The case will then be set for a hearing. Failure to file an answer will result in a
default judgment. ARS 22-514 An application for waiver/deferral may be filed if applicable.
FILING A COUNTERCLAIM A counterclaim is a claim made by the defendant against the plaintiff (a counter lawsuit within a lawsuit). A
counterclaim may be filed at the same time the answer is filed. If the defendant files a counterclaim, the plaintiff has twenty (20) days to file an
answer. A default judgment may be entered against the plaintiff for failure to answer the counterclaim. If the defendant files a counterclaim and
the amount claimed exceeds $3,500.00, the court shall transfer the case to the civil division. If the court determines that the amount of the
counterclaim in excess of the small claims jurisdiction was filed for the sole purpose of avoiding the small claims proceedings, the court may
award the plaintiff court costs, plus reasonable attorney fees for defending the counterclaim. ARS 22-517
MOTIONS Only two motions are allowed in the small claims division: a Motion for Change of Venue (filed before an Answer) and a Motion to
Vacate Judgment (filed after a judgment).  ARS 22-505
HEARING OFFICERS Either a Justice of the Peace or an appointed Volunteer Hearing Officer may hear your case. Any party may object to the
use of a hearing officer prior to the hearing date. The court can provide you with a form to make this objection. The case will then be referred to
and heard by the Justice of the Peace. ARS 22-506
SETTING FOR HEARING The trial will be set for a date within sixty (60) days after the answer has been filed with the court. All parties will be
notified by mail of the date and time of the hearing. ARS 22-515A
REQUEST TO CONTINUE COURT DATE If for some reason you find that you are unable to appear for trial on the date and time scheduled,
you may file a REQUEST FOR CONTINUANCE with the court, showing good cause why you are unable to appear. The Judge will consider the
merits of your request and either grant or deny it. Continuances are granted only for the most serious reasons. The request for continuance must
be in writing and should be timely filed, at least ten (10) days prior to the trial date. ARS 22-515C
THE HEARING: YOU CANNOT HAVE YOUR SMALL CLAIMS CASE HEARD BEFORE A JURY. ARS 22-518
Bring to the trial anything necessary or relevant to establish or defend the claim or counterclaim. Examples: books, papers, bills, pictures of
damages, or other exhibits. Both parties may also bring witnesses to testify in their behalf to substantiate your position. You will only be allowed
a limited amount of time to present your claim or your defense. Be concise. Be prepared.
If the case is settled before the scheduled trial date, be sure to notify the court. A stipulated DISMISSAL or Judgment form must be
filed. Within ten (10) days after the trial, a copy of the Judgment Order will be mailed to each party.
APPEAL You DO NOT have the right to appeal. The decision of the hearing officer or justice of the peace is final AND BINDING ON BOTH
PARTIES. If you wish to preserve your right to appeal, you may have the case transferred to the civil division of the justice court. You may do
this at any time up to ten (10) days before trial. ARS 22-519
IF YOU ARE AWARDED JUDGMENT The judgment is valid for five years from the date it is entered, if you chose to renew the judgment, the
renewal must be filed within 90 days from the expiration. Refer to the court's handout COLLECTING A MONEY JUDGMENT.
MOTION TO VACATE THE JUDGMENT A motion to vacate a judgment is one of only two motions allowed in a small claims action. A motion to
vacate judgment can be filed by either party to vacate a default judgment or a judgment of the court following a hearing. The motion must be
served on the other party in the same manner as if serving a summons and complaint.
If you oppose a motion to vacate the judgment you must file a response in writing ten days after service of the motion.
If the motion to vacate judgment is the defendant's first filing the defendant must pay a filing fee. The motion must be served in the same manner
as if serving a summons and complaint. ARCP 5(c)2
When paid in full the Judgment creditor must file a SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT with the court. This form is available from the court. Visit us
at justicecourts.maricopa.gov for additional filing information and online forms.

�
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SMALL CLAIMS CHECKLIST FOR PARTIES
The following checklist may assist you in processing your case. Check off each action as it occurs or has been completed.

                                                                                             NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES

DEFAULT If the time to answer passes and the defendant fails to answer the complaint, or if the time to reply to a counterclaim passes and the
plaintiff fails to reply to the counterclaim, you may get information and forms from the court for obtaining a default judgment.  Default is a
two-part process, you may obtain both sets of forms from the court.
It is required that a VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL be filed if the case is settled out of court prior to answer. If an answer has been filed in the case,
you must file a STIPULATED DISMISSAL.
When an answer is filed the court will set a hearing date within 60 days of the filing of the answer and notify both parties of the time and date by
mail. Bring all evidence, documents and witnesses you need to present your case or establish your defense.
NOTICE OF ADDRESS CHANGE All parties are responsible for informing the court of a current address to ensure that the party can receive all
notices mailed from the court.
COLLECTING THE JUDGMENT AWARD If you are not able to make arrangements with the losing party to collect your judgment, you may
seek a Writ of Execution, a Writ of Garnishment, or an Order for Supplemental Proceedings (debtor's examination). You may ask the court clerk
for the necessary form. Please refer to your instructions.

PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST DEFENDANT CHECKLIST

   Date COMPLAINT filed and filing fee paid

   Date COMPLAINT served
   Serve the complaint upon each defendant. If the defendant
   refuses to accept the mailing, or a person other than the
   named defendant signs for the mailing, then service has not
   been effected. You may try the mailing again or use a process
   server to effect proper service.

   Date return receipt or affidavit
   of service filed with the court

   Date time to ANSWER expires
   Service by mail: 20 calendar days from the date the return
   receipt is signed, or if there is no date, or if the date is illegible,
   then 20 calendar days from the date the return receipt is filed
   with the court.
   Service by process server: 20 calendar days from the date of
   service.

   IF ANSWER IS RECEIVED:
   Date defendant files an ANSWER

   IF NO ANSWER IS RECEIVED:
   Date AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT
   and APPLICATION FOR ENTRY
   OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to defendant

   Date time to REPLY TO
   COUNTERCLAIM expires

   If the defendant files a counterclaim YOU must file a reply to
   the counterclaim within 20 calendar days. If you fail to file a
   reply, the defendant may obtain a default judgment against
   you.

   If you object to the venue (the precinct in which the complaint
   was filed) you must file a Motion for Change of Venue for
   Improper Venue before the answer is filed.

   Date answer filed and filing fee paid
   Within 20 calendar days of the date you were served

          If you fail to file an answer, the plaintiff may obtain a
                          default judgment against you.

   Date COUNTERCLAIM
   filed and copy mailed to plaintiff

   If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so at the same
   time the Answer is filed. You must use the proper form and
   mail a copy to the plaintiff.

   Date time to REPLY expires

   Date plaintiff files a REPLY

   IF NO REPLY IS RECEIVED:
   Date AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT
   and APPLICATION FOR ENTRY
   OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to plaintiff



SMALL CLAIMS ANSWER
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The Statutory Agent /  Corporate Officer to be served is:

 Maricopa County Justice Courts, Arizona

CASE NUMBER:

WARNING:  THERE ARE NO APPEALS IN SMALL CLAIMS CASES.  You do not have the right to appeal the decision of
the Hearing Officer or the Justice of the Peace in Small claims (Division) Court.  If you wish to preserve your right to
appeal, you may have your case transferred to the Civil Division of the Justice Court pursuant to ARS 22-504, if you
request such a transfer at least ten (10) judicial days prior to the day of the scheduled hearing.

�

                                                                                   DEFENDANT'S ANSWER
                                                           A filing fee must be paid at the time your answer is filed.

I am answering on behalf of      Myself      Marital Community      Other:

I do not owe the plaintiff because:

Date:
                                          Defendant                                                        Defendant

Notice: If you are representing a business, please attach letter of authorization.

  I CERTIFY that a copy of this document has been or will be mailed  to the Plaintiff at the above address.

                    Date:                              By:
                                                                     Defendant

SC 8150-312 R: 9/30/15

Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

http://www.azleg.state.az.us/FormatDocument.asp?inDoc=/ars/22/00504.htm&Title=22&DocType=ARS


CASE NUMBER:

                                  NOTICE OF CHANGE OF JUDGE                          JCRCP Rule 133d

I am the       Plaintiff       Defendant

I am giving notice of change of judge,                                                             pursuant to Justice Court Rules of Civil
Procedure Rule 133d .                                                                Name of Judge

I certify that this notice is made timely and all of the following conditions have been met:

   •   This case has not been set for trial or;
   •   There remains sixty (60) or more days before the date assigned for trial.
   •   I have not previously requested a change of Judge.
   •   This notice is made within ten (10) days after receiving notice for the first time of the newly assigned Judge.
   •   The Judge has not conducted a conference in the lawsuit.
   •   The Judge has not ruled in any contested motion or issue.
   •   The trial has not started.
   •   I have not waived my right to a change of Judge.
   •   This is the only change made or granted in this case.

I state under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true and correct.

Date:
                                           Plaintiff       Defendant

CV  8150-119 R: 1/1/13

           I CERTIFY that a copy of this document has been or will be mailed on                                  to:

         Plaintiff at the above address           Plaintiff's attorney           Defendant at the above address           Defendant's attorney

           Date:                                                           By
                                                                                           Signature

 Maricopa County Justice Courts, Arizona

Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone Defendant(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone

Attorney for Plaintiff(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone Attorney for Defendant(s)  Name / Address / Email / Phone
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