

## **Maricopa County Justice Courts**

DRIVING WITHOUT INSURANCE INFORMATION

The following is important information for you to know if you have received a citation for driving without insurance.

Effective September 30, 2009, Arizona Revised Statute, §28-4135 was amended. The penalties are as follows:

- ~ \$ 500.00 + surcharges and assessments for first offense
- ~ \$ 750.00 + surcharges and assessments for a second offense
- ~ \$1,000.00 + surcharges and assessments for a third offense

In addition to the minimum fine penalty, upon the court's report of a conviction to the <u>Motor Vehicle Department</u>, the MVD <u>will automatically suspend your driving privileges and the registration and license plates of the vehicle you were driving when cited, as follows:</u>

- ~ 3 months for a first offense
- ~ 6 months for a second offense
- ~ 1 year for a third offense

The court may waive the suspension if all of the following criteria are met:

- ~ You have not been found responsible for a violation of section 28-4135 within the past twenty-four months, **OR**
- ~ Not more than one violation of section 28-4135 within the past thirty-six months as evidenced by your driving record, **AND**
- ~ You provide proof of purchase of a six-month insurance policy

Remember, the suspension of your driver license/ registration/ plates is not effective until the MVD mails their Corrective Action Notice to your address of record. Service of the notice is considered complete upon mailing. The Corrective Action Notice will provide information regarding the suspension effective dates and reinstatement requirements (e.g., reinstatement fees, SR22 proof of insurance, etc.).

You may be eligible for a MVD issued restricted license if you obtain SR22 insurance. You must comply with all criteria established by the MVD. To determine your eligibility, you should contact MVD at:

www.azdot.gov/MVD/index.asp Phoenix (602) 255-0072 Tucson (520) 629-9808 Elsewhere in Arizona 1-800-251-5866 TDD service in Phoenix call (602) 712-3222 Elsewhere call 1-800-324-5425