About the Justice Courts

About Us About the Justice Courts

Every county in Arizona has justice courts. Justice courts are the "limited jurisdiction courts" which handle misdemeanor crimes, protective orders, small claims up to $3,500, and civil lawsuits for amounts of $10,000 and below. Appeals from justice court go to the county superior court.

Justice courts are created based on population and geography under Article 6 of the Arizona State Constitution and Title 22 of the Arizona Revised Statutes. Maricopa County has 26 justice court precincts. They are named for a feature, location, or historical presence in that precinct.

Each justice precinct has a Justice of the Peace and a Constable, elected to four-year terms. The JP is the judge of the court for that precinct. The constable is a kind of law enforcement officer, charged with serving paperwork and carrying out the business of the court which does not take place within the physical courthouse. 

Constables are a partner to the court but are not court employees. They are a separate county department and have their own web site, administration, and employees.